What Are The Top 10 Biggest Six In IPL History?

Biggest Six In IPL History

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a platform for power-hitting and breathtaking cricketing moments since its inception. From seasoned veterans to emerging talents, players have showcased their ability to send the ball soaring into the stands with colossal sixes that leave spectators in awe. Let’s delve into the top 10 biggest sixes in IPL history and relive some of the most memorable moments of cricketing firepower:

Albie Morkel – 125 metres (Chennai Super Kings, 2008): South African all-rounder Albie Morkel holds the record for the longest six in IPL history. During a match against Deccan Chargers in Hyderabad in the inaugural IPL season, Morkel launched off-spinner Pragyan Ojha’s delivery a staggering 125 meters, sending the ball out of the park and into cricketing folklore.

Praveen Kumar – 124 metres (Kings XI Punjab, 2011): In a surprising turn of events, medium-pacer Praveen Kumar etched his name in IPL history by smashing a colossal 124-metre-long six while playing for Kings XI Punjab in 2011. Despite being primarily known for his bowling prowess, Kumar showcased his batting skills with this mammoth hit.

Adam Gilchrist – 122 metres (Kings XI Punjab, 2011): Australian legend Adam Gilchrist, known for his explosive batting, proved his mettle with a towering six measuring 122 meters during his stint with Kings XI Punjab in 2011. As the captain of the team, Gilchrist’s authoritative strokeplay left an indelible mark on the tournament.

Robin Uthappa – 120 metres (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2010): Renowned for his elegant strokeplay, Indian batsman Robin Uthappa surprised fans by smashing a colossal 120-metre six while representing Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2010. Uthappa’s ability to combine timing with power was on full display during this remarkable innings.

Chris Gayle – 119 metres (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2013): No list of big hitters in the IPL is complete without the mention of Chris Gayle. The West Indian powerhouse holds the record for the most number of sixes in the IPL and in 2013, he unleashed a monstrous 119-metre six against Ashok Dinda of the Rising Pune Supergiants, showcasing his unparalleled hitting prowess.

Yuvraj Singh – 119 metres (Kings XI Punjab, 2009): Known as the ‘sixer king’, Yuvraj Singh smashed a colossal 119-metre six while leading Kings XI Punjab in 2009. Yuvraj’s ability to clear the boundaries with ease has made him one of the most feared batsmen in IPL history, and this gigantic six is a testament to his batting prowess.

Ross Taylor – 119 metres (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2008): New Zealand’s Ross Taylor announced his arrival in the IPL with a thunderous 119-metre six during the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2008. Taylor’s raw power and aggressive strokeplay make him a force to be reckoned with in the world of T20 cricket.

Ben Cutting – 117 metres (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2016): Australian all-rounder Ben Cutting showcased his batting prowess with a colossal 117-metre six while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2016. Cutting’s ability to clear the ropes with ease makes him a valuable asset in the shortest format of the game.

Gautam Gambhir – 117 metres (Kolkata Knight Riders, 2013): Former Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir demonstrated his power-hitting abilities with a massive 117-metre six in 2013. Gambhir’s knack for timing the ball to perfection combined with his sheer strength resulted in this towering six.

MS Dhoni – 115 metres (Chennai Super Kings, 2009): Captain Cool, MS Dhoni, etched his name in IPL history with a towering 115-metre six during the 2009 season while representing Chennai Super Kings. Dhoni’s ability to clear the boundary with effortless ease has made him a fan favorite and a legend of the game.

These mammoth sixes are a testament to the power and skill of the players who have graced the IPL over the years. From towering hits to jaw-dropping distances, these moments have etched themselves into the annals of cricketing history, leaving fans eagerly anticipating the next display of brute force and batting brilliance in the world’s premier T20 league.

Read More:

top 10 ipl teams
top 10 lowest score in ipl history
which ipl team has most fans
which is the no 1 fixing team in ipl
Highest Team Scores in IPL from 2008 to 2023